So this is a tasty lentil soup that can be made easily and cheaply! Who doesn’t like a nice wholesome meal for little money? SO! Onto the soup.

Lentil Soup Ingredients:

Directions:

Chop up the onions and start to saute them with some olive oil and salt, chop up your garlic and throw it in. Cook the onions down on low heat. This will essentially be the base of your broth.

Add 2 cups green lentils to pot and water accordingly,  I usually need to add some water to the pot during the cooking process due to evaporation and the lentils soaking it up, so this amount is relative. Now add your ground green pepper and ground black pepper to the water and all spice, more salt may be needed and use these spices to your own preference. I like pepper, not the killer burn off your tongue kind, but the hit different parts of your pallet kind that enhance the flavors. The Green pepper covers a different part of your palate than Black pepper and both work great together. The All Spice brings a nice sweet spice flavor and smell to it.Now turn it up and bring it to a boil to get those lentils cooking, keep an eye on the water level.

While the lentils and spices are cooking it is time to start on your potatoes. I used smaller potatoes so that is why i have 4 listed, but you can use what ever amount you want. I cut up my lentils thin and leave the skin on. I cut the potatoes thin so they cook fast and leave the skin on partially because I’m lazy but also there have vitamins, minerals and fiber. Mostly because I’m lazy. So now throw your potatoes into the pot. Add more water, salt and spices as needed. Bring to boil if you had turned it down.

Now wash up your kale(amount may vary) and throw it into the pot with everything.

When your potatoes are finally cooked you can now turn the heat down to medium and let it simmer. Your lentils may not yet be fully cooked through, they take a while. This is alright though because you are going to let it finish cooking low and slow. I check how well the lentils are cooked by simply eating a few from the pot, please use a spoon because otherwise you won’t be having soup tonight but a trip to the ER.

Around the time that the lentils are fully cooked you should be able to mash them up a little bit. I like to do this because it adds weight to the broth. I also mash up the potatoes to help the broth out and as you will notice the kale is disintegrating. Same as before if you need any more seasoning please add more. If you want more water, add it in. As you may have noticed I like to let this cook, reduce, add more water, and reduce till I get the consistency that i want.

This recipe is easily scaled up and modified to what ever your taste is.

The end result is a savory, spicy, rib sticking vegan soup that will win over nearly anyone that eats it. I will also at times put the extra into Tupperware and freeze it or put it in the fridge. If you decide to freeze it simply put the block of soup into a pot, add some water and turn the heat on low and let it melt and warm up. Happy eating!

Note: My apologies on the lack of pictures for the soup, I didn’t have my camera with me the last time I made it, but i will get some pictures and get this recipe updated when I do!

Ciabatta Bread would be great with this also!

